Skip to main content

| NEWS | Current UK local TV stations set to remain on air until 2034

In a positive move for hopes of continuing DTT broadcasts until at least 2034, the government has set out proposals that intend to see the country’s current local TV channels remain on the nation’s airwaves until then, subject to a review by Ofcom.

The 34 local stations’ current licences are set to expire in 2025. Ofcom will review each station’s proposals for next ten years to ensure they can maintain their current service and continue making distinctive shows which meet the needs of the local area. If Ofcom approves their plans, services will be allowed to continue broadcasting until 2034 and retain several benefits - including a prominent position in electronic TV guides.

  • Created on .